Thursday, May 8, 2014

Catholic Angelology

In Catholic Angelology, the Seraphim & Cherubim are the first two highest order of a nine-fold celestial hierarchy of beings we so commonly call collectively "the Angels". 

Known as the "multi-winged ones", they are the models of perfect reverence. Before the intimacy of the consecration in the Sanctus we should invoke a unity with them and entering an acknowledgement we are before the throne of Calvary's summit to whom our kneels are bending.
  •  Revelation 4:8
    Each of the four living creatures had six wings and were covered with eyes all around, even under its wings. Day and night they never stop saying: "'Holy, holy, holy is the Lord God Almighty,' who was, and is, and is to come."

  • Isaiah 6:2 
    "Seraphim stood above Him, each having six wings: with two he covered his face, and with two he covered his feet, and with two he flew. And one called out to another and said, "Holy, Holy, Holy, is the LORD of hosts, The whole earth is full of His glory."

  •  Ezekiel 1:11
    Such were their faces. They each had two wings spreading out upward, each wing touching that of the creature on either side; and each had two other wings covering its body.

  •  Exodus 25:19 
    "Make one cherub at one end and one cherub at the other end; you shall make the cherubim of one piece with the mercy seat at its two ends. 20"The cherubim shall have their wings spread upward, covering the mercy seat with their wings and facing one another; the faces of the cherubim are to be turned toward the mercy seat.
    Mercy Seat

Thank you to David Crawford for this info.  God bless my Facebook Friends!

No comments:

Blog Widget by LinkWithin